Lok Sabha 2019: High Voltage Battles to look forward to

high voltage battles in elections

The world’s largest democracy goes to polls from April 11 to choose the new government.

All eyes set on the NDA Alliance – will it retain power or not?

This time the contest between the rivals is intense.

The high-voltage constituencies have already caught the interest of the voters across India.

Take a look at some of them.

Constituency – Mandya, Karnataka
Sumalatha Ambareesh (Independent) VS Nikhil Kumaraswamy (JDS)

Wife of late actor and Congress heavyweight Ambareesh – Sumalatha takes on Karnataka CM’s son Nikhil Kumaraswamy

Constituency – Amethi, Uttar Pradesh
Smriti Irani (BJP) VS Rahul Gandhi (Congress)

Union Textiles Minister Smriti Irani is up for a spirited fight against Rahul Gandhi from the Gandhi bastion.

Constituency – Mumbai North Central, Maharashtra
Poonam Mahajan (BJP) VS Priya Dutt (Congress)

It’s a face-off between the daughter of BJP stalwart Pramod Mahajan and the daughter of another late stalwart from Congress – Sunil Dutt.

Constituency – Patna Shahib, Bihar
Shatrughan Sinha (Congress) vs Ravi Shankar Prasad (BJP)

The veteran actor and a former BJP MP from Patna, Shatrughan Sinha is pitted against the Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

Shatrughan Sinha was a vocal critic of Modi. He even attended Mamata Banerjee’s Mahagathbandhan rally against Modi government before turning to Congress.

Constituency – Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
Jitin Prasada (Congress) VS Rajnath Singh (BJP)

Jitin Prasada is pitted against the current Home Minister – Rajnath Singh from a seat which has a heavy upper-caste electorate.

Formerly held by Atal Bihari Vajpayee and currently by Rajnath Singh, the seat is a BJP stronghold since 1991.

Constituency – Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
Shashi Tharoor (Congress) VS Kummanam Rajasekharan (BJP) VS C Divakaran (LDF)

The key Kerala constituency is head for a three-way thriller with the Sabarimala issue taking the centre stage.

BJP’s Rajasekharan is in the fray after resigning as the governor of Mizoram. The Left has fielded Divakaran, a three-time legislator. Shashi Tharoor is contesting from Congress’s ticket.

Constituency – Begusarai, Bihar
Kanhaiya Kumar (CPIM) VS Giriraj Singh (BJP)

A lot at stake for both, Giriraj will fight to stay relevant and debutant Kanhaiya to propel his political future.

Candidates are exploring all possible options to bolster their campaigns.

High-voltage campaigning is being witnessed by the candidates.

It would be a bag of mixed emotions for both voters and candidates until the results day on May 23.

Keep your enthusiasm intact.
Vote for India; Vote for Growth.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here