Veteran Politicians who are missing Lok Sabha Elections 2019

veteran politicians

The preparations are underway for the 17th General Elections in India.

This general election will see many veteran politicians stepping-out from their electoral politics.

And, making way for the youngsters to contest in the election and manage election affairs.

BJP has introduced an undeclared age bar of 75 years to ease out its old guards from electoral politics.

While there is no official announcement from any other parties on their candidates’ age factor.

So, who are all going to miss this general election? Let’s take a look.

Padma Vibhushan, BJP co-founder, veteran Lal Krishna Advani

Advani served as

  • 7th Deputy Prime Minister of India in Vajpayee’s government
  • Minister of Home Affairs
  • The leader of Opposition in 10th and 14th Lok Sabha

Padma Vibhushan, Leading BJP politician, Murali Manohar Joshi

Joshi served as

  • BJP party president from 1991 to 1993
  • Union Human Resources Minister in Vajpayee’s government

Statesman, journalist, founder of Samata Party, George Fernandez

  • Fernandez was a driving force behind Konkan Railway project during his tenure from 1989-1990
  • He was a Defence Minister during Kargil War and nuclear tests at Pokhran
  • Fernandez served many ministerial portfolios including communications, industry, railways and defence

Veteran Congress leader, C K Jaffer Sharief

  • Jaffer Sharief was a Railway Minister from 1991 until 1995
  • He played an instrumental role in gauge conversion in Karnataka state
  • He passed away in January 2019

Senior BJP leader, Ananth Kumar

  • Anant Kumar never faced an electoral defeat in any of the Lok Sabha elections he contested
  • He handled various ministries like Tourism, Sports & Youth Affairs, Culture, Urban Development and Poverty Alleviation
  • He expired in November 2018

Major General (Retd.) Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri

B. C. Khanduri served as Uttarakhand Chief Minister and MP in 16th Lok Sabha. He was a Cabinet Minister, Ministry of Surface Transport in Vajpayee’s government.

Senior BJP leader, Kalraj Mishra

  • Kalraj Mishra is currently an MP from Deoria Constituency in Uttar Pradesh
  • He was the state BJP president of Uttar Pradesh
  • He was the Union Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSME) in Modi government

And, Bhagat Singh Koshyari from Uttarakhand,
Bijoya Chakravarty from Guwahati,
Karia Munda from Jharkhand and
Shanta Kumar from Himachal Pradesh is also saying goodbye to electoral politics.

So, the youngsters are replacing the veterans, and they have some big shoes to fill.

Let us wish all the candidates who are replacing the veterans all the luck.

The seven-phase of 17th Lok Sabha elections in the country will begin on April 11 and will go on till May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here